Home of Ealing Council’s magazine for residents

Close this search box.
Stage and podium at general election count July 2024

Election: results of the borough’s votes

Each of the borough’s 3 parliamentary seats were won by the Labour Party following yesterday’s (Thursday 4 July) general election. The results were announced in the early hours of this morning after all local votes had been counted, just as the national picture began to emerge.

In Ealing Central and Acton, the Labour Party candidate, Rupa Huq secured the seat with 22,340 votes. The other candidates received the following votes:

  • Stephen Balogh, Social Democratic Party, 410
  • Julie Carter, Independent, 303
  • Kate Crossland, Green Party, 5,444
  • Nada Mohamed Jarche, Workers Party, 1,766
  • Alastair Mitton, Liberal Democrat, 6,056
  • Felix Orrell, Reform UK, 3,105
  • James Windsor-Clive, Conservative Party, 8,345

You can see the full results for Ealing Central and Acton on the council’s website.

In Ealing North, James Murray, the Labour Party candidate, won with 20,663 votes. The other candidates received the following votes:

  • Helmi Alharahsheh, Independent, 499
  • Les Beaumont, Social Democratic Party, 240
  • Sam Habeeb, Workers Party, 3,139
  • Leon Harris, Reform UK, 3,948
  • Maria Khan, Conservative Party, 8,144
  • Natalia Kubica, Green Party, 4,056
  • Craig O’Donnell, Liberal Democrat, 2,543

You can see the full results for Ealing North on the council’s website.

In Ealing Southall, Deirdre Costigan won the seat for the Labour Party with 23,000 votes.  The other candidates received the following votes:

  • Darshan Singh Azad, Workers Party, 4,237
  • Sangeet Kaur Bhail, Independent, 557
  • Joe Bhangu, Independent, 319
  • Georgie Calle, Conservative Party, 7,207
  • Steve Chilcott, Reform UK, 2,585
  • Pedro De Conceicao, Independent, 213
  • Tariq Mahmood, Liberal Democrat, 2,832
  • Niko Omilana, Independent, 740
  • Neil Reynolds, Green Party, 4,356
  • Jaginder Singh, Independent, 295
  • Peter Ward, Rejoin EU, 475

You can see the full results for Ealing Southall on the council’s website.

These 3 elected members of parliament (MPs) will now represent their constituencies in the Houses of Parliament: Rupa Huq, James Murray and Deidre Costigan.

For more on the national results of the general election, and how things worked out across the rest of London, details can be found on national websites.

Share with

You may also like

Editor's Pick

It’s time again to get your phones and cameras at the ready, because our next seasonal photo competition is ready to receive your entries. …


Subscribe to our newsletter

It is simple to register to receive fortnightly email updates from Around Ealing Extra

Translate »